Incense and Healing

While watching a vlog in my downtime, I noticed how the man used incense for his depression. And I thought, “Hey, that’s one thing I haven’t tried yet.” And I believe it actually could help quite a bit.

I was raised where herbs and oils were used as medicines. I know the basics of what does what, or at least where to find out. So maybe I can use incense like some would use essential oils. Besides, fire has always brought me a sense of happiness, and smoke is mesmerizing. If nothing else, the incense will distract me from whatever is the problem.

So off to Amazon I went, checking pricing, and looking for a cool holder that would match my soul. To my disappointment, incense holders have a limited selection here in the US. Either Buddha, other gods I don’t worship, dragons, or a stepping stone/waterfall kind-of-thing. There wasn’t much of any quality for wolves, or skulls.

That’s when I began to think, “How hard would it be to make my own?” After all, when I was much younger, I used to sculpt quite a bit. It was simply another way my artistic side was released. I still have all the tools, and I even have some clay. So why not give it a shot, right?

 

Then all these great ideas kept flowing, like what designs, colors, details… My creative side was unleashed. I suddenly had the urge to make a list (as I do a lot…) with all the possibilities. I’m gonna try either a tree or a howling wolf first. If it turns our well, I may keep going, making all the designs.

But then what would I do with all of them? Ah!  I got it! Those that turn out well, I can probably sell online. I mean, come on; surely I’m not the only one who wants a more original holder?

I laugh, cause this always happens when I have a great idea. (Hush, it’s great to me; don’t judge). Because money is always the following thought, and how I can get it achieve it though whatever I am up to.

A boy can dream, right?

But even if I don’t make a cent, I know this is something I will get joy from just doing it for myself. To be able to create something, and have it be useful, is a very good feeling. And one that I don’t get often.

 

My draft sketches have already begun. Now I just need to find the time to get the clay out and start working.

Post Script: Because of this sudden inspiration, I watched a tutorial on how to draw smoke, which is something I have never been able to accomplish freehand. I am pleased with the results already. I can’t wait to see how that improves with time.


Mitch

Leave a Reply

